Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Motors, motor drivers, power supplies, ...

Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby spaceman » 26 Oct 2012, 00:48

I have a stepper that I want to try that has Pul +/- and Dir +/- and Enable +/-. The + of the previous can be wired to the MK2 board, I understand that. Can I wire the - of those 3 to the ground of the MK2 axis header as well?
spaceman
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 22:52
Location: Canada
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 26 Oct 2012, 05:11

You either use common anode or common cathode connection. Here is more info:
http://www.planet-cnc.com/faq/driver_opto/
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby spaceman » 26 Oct 2012, 10:32

Thanks Andrej. Cathode was what seemed logical to me. Is there any advantage one over the other?
spaceman
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 22:52
Location: Canada
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 26 Oct 2012, 12:35

I use common cathode on all my machines.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby spaceman » 14 Nov 2012, 02:56

When wiring for common cathode as per the illustration you linked to, can the negatives (-) go to any ground on the axis header of the controller board? Or should they all go to pin 7?
spaceman
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 22:52
Location: Canada
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 14 Nov 2012, 06:59

Wires can go to any GND header.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby spaceman » 15 Nov 2012, 02:27

What kind of voltage should I expect to see at Enable/Dir/Step outputs?
spaceman
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 22:52
Location: Canada
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 15 Nov 2012, 23:53

spaceman wrote:What kind of voltage should I expect to see at Enable/Dir/Step outputs?

If you need to ask this then you should not measure.

(enable and dir are 0V or 5V, step is only visible on oscilloscope)
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby hungryarie » 16 Nov 2012, 06:39

I am missing steps even when no axis is connected to the motors. I have connect my drivers according to the athode schematic.

Do you think that wirering acc to cathode would result in no missing steps?
hungryarie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 17 Aug 2012, 07:22
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby hungryarie » 16 Nov 2012, 06:44

I am missing steps even without load or axis connected to my motors. I use the athode wirering .

Do you think that wireing acc to cathode schematic would solve the lost steps?
hungryarie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 17 Aug 2012, 07:22
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 16 Nov 2012, 08:38

Which motors and motor drivers do you have?
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby hungryarie » 16 Nov 2012, 19:31

I have 4 leadshine m542 drivers
X: 2x nema 17 0,5nm
Y: 1x nema 23 1,0nm
Z: 1x nema 23 1,0nm

The drivers are set to 1/16 microstepping.
hungryarie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 17 Aug 2012, 07:22
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 17 Nov 2012, 17:31

What is motor driver current setting?
What is your power supply?
Do you try to rotate motors too fast?
What is your "Initial Speed" and "Acceleration" setting?
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby spaceman » 18 Nov 2012, 00:11

hungryarie wrote:I have 4 leadshine m542 drivers
X: 2x nema 17 0,5nm
Y: 1x nema 23 1,0nm
Z: 1x nema 23 1,0nm

The drivers are set to 1/16 microstepping.


I am testing the same drivers. Do you know if they require enable high or low?
spaceman
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 22:52
Location: Canada
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 18 Nov 2012, 12:26

These drivers have low enable signal by default. If you don't connect enable they should work.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby hungryarie » 19 Nov 2012, 21:00

Andrej wrote:What is motor driver current setting?
What is your power supply?
Do you try to rotate motors too fast?
What is your "Initial Speed" and "Acceleration" setting?


I've uploaded a short video on youtube. So you can see what I mean. http://youtu.be/PK0QWQDwy-E

My driver settings are:
nema 23 (Y & Z): 3.76A Peak and 2.69A RMS
nema 17 (X): 1.91A Peak and 1.36A RMS
micro stepping is 1/8 (not 1/16 as mentioned before)

Power supply:
Type: RoHs S-320-48
320 Watt
48 Volts
6.7A

I don't think I'm running them to fast. Software settings are:
motors are losing steps at 666,66 rpm but also at 3333,33 rpm. It doesn't matter.
Initial speed: 100 (default)
max speed: 0 (default)
acceleration: 15 (default)
hungryarie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 17 Aug 2012, 07:22
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 19 Nov 2012, 22:49

Video looks like you're rotating motors faster than they can handle.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Bakha » 20 Nov 2012, 05:26

hungryarie wrote:
Andrej wrote:What is motor driver current setting?
I've uploaded a short video on youtube.

The engines were revived at full speed to no resonance, one must load the motor axis.
Bakha
 
Posts: 165
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 17:45
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby Andrej » 20 Nov 2012, 07:50

This is also true. When axis has load it behaves differently.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby hungryarie » 20 Nov 2012, 11:17

Ok. I did not knew that. Will try again when my machine is build.

Thanks though!
hungryarie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 17 Aug 2012, 07:22
Controller: Mk2

Re: Stepper Driver to MK2 wiring question

Postby 3dtech » 08 Mar 2017, 12:04

thanks for this valuable information.
3dtech
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 08:24
Location: MONA TILES COMPOUND, NR. CHHANI CIRCLE, CHHANI ROAD, VADODARA - 390002. GUJARAT, INDIA.
Controller: Mk2


Return to Electronics



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest