Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Motors, motor drivers, power supplies, ...

Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 30 Aug 2015, 16:01

Howdy from Grapevine, Texas. I have a calibration problem I'm not sure how to handle.
I set-up my cnc router, "Arnold", according to Planet CNC instructions. Needles to say when I do the test it is right no the money. I used a machinist ruler that measures 1/64 of an inch and a 10 degree V bit to do my calibration. Like I said it is right on the money.

The problem is, the larger the file the more "off" the travel is.

The attached file "Engine 60" is only 123kb but when the file is executed and returns home, the XY coordinates are -.03828 from true home.

But when I run a larger file like "BN 008" which is 693kb, the path is noticeably off. The really large files which I can't attach are 1,305kb can be foo by as much as 1/4 inch or more off.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Jim Markevitch
Grapevin, TX
Attachments
Engine 60.nc
(122.48 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
BN 008 05.nc
(692.81 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 01 Sep 2015, 13:10

I should add that I have calibrated the distance settings several times. I started with two inches and went all the way up to the width of my table, 27 1/4 inches.

Each time I ran the rather simple 123kb file, home was still off by approximately .0305.

Hope this helps in solving my problem.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 02 Sep 2015, 14:01

It is possible that your machine is loosing steps...
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 02 Sep 2015, 15:41

I don't think so. My MultiCam has no belts or pulleys. The fact that X , Y, and Z are all off when doing a large file tells me I'm missing something in the setup.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 05 Sep 2015, 13:24

I don't think so. All my cables to Arnold are doubled jumpered. What this means is I can switch back to the MultiCam controller by simply removing the plug for my MK3/4 controller and hardware and connecting back to the old MultiCam controller.

When I do and run the same program it is right on the screws, no errors.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 07 Sep 2015, 15:40

We will test this. Thank you for your patience.
Are you sure that the speeds are not to high during machining and therefore machine loses some steps?
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 08 Sep 2015, 13:55

No . . . . . . . If anything it seems to run a bit slower.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 10 Sep 2015, 07:38

You use external power supply for controller?
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 10 Sep 2015, 13:59

I use a 24V power supply connected to 110V AC for the controller.

My son says I should consider using a line conditioner. Do you think that would help???

See attached pic.

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Attachments
T2.jpg
T2.jpg (149.82 KiB) Viewed 2010 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 15 Sep 2015, 13:50

Can tell you for sure...Are your shields of cables connected only at controllers GND pin(meaning only on one side)?
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 16 Sep 2015, 16:51

Yes . . . . . . shield cable only connected to controller grounds.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 17 Sep 2015, 14:22

FYI . . . . . . . I bought a Furman line conditioner. It does not improve the problem.

I seem to remember one of your replies to a similar problem was to plug the power supply from the controller into a different 110 AC circuit than the power supply for the drivers.. Is there any merit to this?

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 18 Sep 2015, 11:56

It wouldn't hurt to try..
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 18 Sep 2015, 14:43

I plugged the Controller & Driver power supplies into different 110AC circuits. I did NOT make a difference. the problem still exists.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 21 Sep 2015, 09:12

Could you take some pictures and your machine ? Just so that we see the concept of it.
Also if possible make a short video during machining.
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 06 Nov 2015, 19:10

Pic 11.jpg
Pic 11.jpg (129.05 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Pic 09.jpg
Pic 09.jpg (114.75 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Pic 08.jpg
Pic 08.jpg (132.89 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Pic 07.jpg
Pic 07.jpg (159.58 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Pic 10.jpg
Pic 10.jpg (168.27 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Pic 05.jpg
Pic 05.jpg (103.16 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
.
Pic 04.jpg
Pic 04.jpg (107.18 KiB) Viewed 1802 times


I have included some pics of the calibration, the old controller (which still works), several pics of the new Planet CNC controller.

See next post for more.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 06 Nov 2015, 19:19

Pic 02.jpg
Pic 02.jpg (93.93 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
settings031115.setting
(50.44 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
Pic 01.jpg
Pic 01.jpg (113.63 KiB) Viewed 1802 times




Here is a pic of the file I attached for a simple v-carve. The second pic shows how far off "X" & "Y" are off from home after the file is executed. I have also included my settings.

Sorry it took me so long to answer as I have been using my old controller to make plaques.

I sure hope we can get to the bottom of this as I'd like to use my setup.

Thanks in advance.

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Attachments
Engine 60.nc
(122.48 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 10 Nov 2015, 11:26

The problems can be caused by short moves which can be very erratic if acceleration and speed values are high.

You can use lower speeds and accelerations, also please try re-configuring these settings(File/Settings/Lookahead):

Angle: 170
Radius: 0 ; Angle: 20
Sped Ajdust -> enabled
Radial Acceleration value should usually be same as "Acceleration" value from "Axes" setup.
Path tolerance: Depends on your requirements
Path blend: Enabled
Path Range: 5-180

"Initial Speed" should be zero. This is often reason for lost steps because motors start too hard.(Axes/Setup/Init Speed)

Please try your g-code programs with this settings configuration and post the results.
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 10 Nov 2015, 20:09

My message disappeared so I'll try again.

I made the changes you requested and ran a G Code file that took about 45 minutes to complete. I is a 60 degree v-bit file. When returning to home the bit was just under an 1/8" off.

I have included the file and two pics. (The Z is not that far off as I lowered it to take the picture.)

As for speed, I am running somewhere about 25 to 40 percent slower than when running the MultiCam software. It doesn't seem to make a difference what speed I set it at, i.e., 30, 40, or 50. It's off from home about the same distance.

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Attachments
DSCN1302.JPG
DSCN1302.JPG (73.9 KiB) Viewed 1773 times
DSCN1299.JPG
DSCN1299.JPG (79.05 KiB) Viewed 1773 times
GCodetap.tap
(237.34 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 17 Nov 2015, 20:34

Any reply to the last post. I really can't use the controller until this is solved.

Jim Markevitch
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 18 Nov 2015, 09:03

We are testing it now. Please send us your latest settings file.
Could you make a video of machine operating (it can be air cutting)?
Do you hear any strange noises or rigid sounds?
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 12 Feb 2016, 11:24

This error seems to be [solved], lost steps were caused by to long Step Delay parameter.
Step Delay parameter for drivers Leadshine model M542-05 and its clones should be set to 12uS
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Jimmydee004 » 15 Feb 2016, 16:17

It took a bit of time . . . . . . Only because I didn't know what to do with some of the setting.
All seems to be working great. Here is my first attempt after resolving all the setup issues.

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Attachments
Bong P38.jpg
Bong P38.jpg (89.43 KiB) Viewed 1444 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: Calibration . . . . Another Set-Up Problem

Postby Support » 16 Feb 2016, 09:29

Yeah the step delay seemed as the last option :)
This is a really nice plaque and really good news. I am glad that everything works for you now.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation on this matter.

Best regards,
Team PlanetCNC
Support
 
Posts: 2621
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers


Return to Electronics



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests