G-code error when opening Vcarve file

CNC USB Controller Software

G-code error when opening Vcarve file

Postby Ryadia » 15 Apr 2017, 01:14

Hello all.
I'm new to CNC control but a well experienced machinist. I'm starting to be thankful I waited 30 years to get involved with CNC. If I was in business I'd be close to broke with the drama I've been having. I hope some kind person can help me here. I'll be eternally grateful.

I've got an error message from CNC USB when opening a Vcarve file to machine a 6mm square (roughly) running 175mm the full length of piece of pine. Yes... I know I could do this in about 20 seconds with my router table but I'm doing this as a learning experience. Unfortunately my ability to retain what I learn is not what it used to be. Either that or this software has got gremlins in it!

The error is:
Bad character Đ (19) Line:1 ĐĎ◀ŕ±→á
Looks to me like a damaged file but if it was, why does Vcarve open it without drama? The whole idea of doing this "cut a straight line" exercise is to help understand Vcarve and then CNC USB. Not doing too well so far I'm afraid.
Ryadia

Re: G-code error when opening Vcarve file

Postby JerryBurks » 18 Apr 2017, 15:20

Might be that you are using the wrong Post Processor in Vcarve. You can choose that in the toolpath export dialog. Select any of the generic Post Processors that starts with "G-Code****". Does not matter if mm or inch but if you have arcs or circles in your design choose the variant that include "arcs".

I use Vcarve with Planet-CNC controller all the time, no problem.

Edited to say: Or are you trying to open the actual Vcarve file with Planet CNC? That will never work. You must generate a G-Code file in Vcarve that can be read by Planet-CNC.
JerryBurks

Controller: Mk2

Postby Ryadia » 18 Apr 2017, 22:51

Thanks for replying Jerry,