New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

CNC USB Controller Software

New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 03 Feb 2017, 11:25

New PlanetCNC TNG software(preview version) has been released!

You can download it here: https://planet-cnc.com/software/
From "Choose your download" drop down menu select: "PlanetCNC TNG 2017.01.31 preview"

You can use it with Mk3 series of controllers: Mk3, Mk3/4, Mk3ECO

More about firmware update with PlanetCNC TNG software: https://planet-cnc.com/updating-planetcnc-controller-planetcnc-tng-software/

Also worth of a read: https://planet-cnc.com/planetcnc-tng-software-overview-and-performance-guidelines/
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby buitermark » 04 Feb 2017, 15:42

Hi Andrej,

No support for the Mk2 boards with the TNG version ??

Technical reason ?
If so, do you offer an exchange/upgrade program for the MK2 users ?

(I've two of them...but need to refind my licenses for these to get them working again. Was a very bad persional period the last 4/5 years..)

Regards Bart
buitermark
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 May 2012, 08:52
Location: Rhenen, Netherlands
Controller: Mk2

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Firesand » 06 Feb 2017, 18:02

Hi

Could you please describe what is different or better about this new software please?

Thank you
Firesand
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 01 Jun 2014, 21:20
Location: Victoria, BC, CANADA
Controller: Mk2

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 07 Feb 2017, 13:00

MK2 controllers are not supported with TNG version. Only Mk3 series.

New software is much more flexible and adaptable for users needs. You are able to create your own procedures/scripts.

It also has new and better motion algorithm. Many new features, this will all be covered in series of blog posts.

Thank you for your patience.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Firesand » 07 Feb 2017, 17:44

Support wrote:It also has new and better motion algorithm. Many new features, this will all be covered in series of blog posts.


I am really looking forward to reading the upcoming blog posts to see what you folks have been working on.

It sounds like this new version will be pretty awesome.
Firesand
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 01 Jun 2014, 21:20
Location: Victoria, BC, CANADA
Controller: Mk2

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby zohozer » 08 Feb 2017, 01:49

Thank you for the PlanetCNC TNG software. As I can see this is running on Windows and Linux. Any chance to have a build also for OSX? I'm mostly a MAC user.
zohozer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 06 Dec 2014, 17:57
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby zohozer » 09 Feb 2017, 20:08

Just made an attempt to run PlanetCNC TNG on OSX with Wine but result is very bad. It is not working at all in OSX with Wine.
zohozer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 06 Dec 2014, 17:57
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 16 Feb 2017, 00:07

I have been looking at this new release and see it does not have the Position State Program feature of the old software. Do you plan to add this later? :?:
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 16 Feb 2017, 12:53

Can you describe what you mean with Position State?
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 16 Feb 2017, 14:54

On the main screen there are tree tabs one Position which has the axes locations which is in the new version. Then you have a State tab that has current, axis, origin, and tool information. The other tab Program has the name, extents, extents speeds information. Will the State and Program tabs be added later. This has great information and I use it for my set up on every cut. I hope it gets added.
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 16 Feb 2017, 15:06

I have built a tool with an Arduino using buttons to position my machine during set up using the midi commands such as /441 to zero the axis. Will there be a way to send external commands in the new TNG version?
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby BosniaCNC » 17 Feb 2017, 14:57

PlanetCNC TNG on linux UBUNTU 16.10.
Attachments
Slika iz 2017-02-16 20-37-54.jpeg
Slika iz 2017-02-16 20-37-54.jpeg (222.52 KiB) Viewed 3858 times
Slika iz 2017-02-16 20-58-41.jpeg
Slika iz 2017-02-16 20-58-41.jpeg (27.23 KiB) Viewed 3858 times
BosniaCNC
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Feb 2016, 22:57
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby pinkgoat » 19 Feb 2017, 00:45

I haven't tried the new software, but it looks very very good.
I like the new menu structure, the camera options are great,
clean GUI, Great job, thank you...
pinkgoat
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 05 Jun 2015, 19:44
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 20 Feb 2017, 14:02

@traderdays:
All info regarding program, state tabs:
In TNG software you are able to create your own tabs that would display all info regarding offsets, motion, program/g-code, inputs, outputs etc
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Buukie » 20 Feb 2017, 17:22

New software is looking very very good. Also looking forward to the improved motion algorithm.

Looking at the software I am wondering how to setup a slave axis in X direction??

Thank in advance and keep up the good work
Buukie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2017, 17:35

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Buukie » 20 Feb 2017, 17:39

Hi Andrej,

New software is looking great!!

But how can I add a slave axis to my machine??

Thanks!
Buukie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2017, 17:35

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 20 Feb 2017, 19:37

When will info are manual on how to create tabs and use all the great new features be available?
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 22 Feb 2017, 08:42

@Buukie: File/Settings/Motors->Axis output n-> click and select axis from drop down menu.

@TraderDays: As soon as possible, so many things to that have a slight priority. We will post it in our blogs.
Thank you for your patience.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby buitermark » 23 Feb 2017, 08:07

Hi Andrej/Support

@04 feb 2017 i asked
buitermark wrote:Hi Andrej,

No support for the Mk2 boards with the TNG version ??

Technical reason ?
If so, do you offer an exchange/upgrade program for the MK2 users ?

Regards Bart


But only the first part was answered. No support for the Mk2 boards with TNG version.

- Are you leaving the Mk2 owners completely on they're own ?
- No new updates for the controller software for them anymore. Just for the Mk3 and up (TNG version) owners ?

How about the part
buitermark wrote:If so, do you offer an exchange/upgrade program for the MK2 users ?


Your products/company show many good improvements. That's great!
I believe that's because of all your good and hard work in developing the hardware/software. We all appreciate that.

But you need a few others too in my opinion.
- open the forum, and allow direct postings. Much more interaction will occur.
- stable/growing userbase
- support the people who believed in you when they bought the first versions of your controller/software.
(after your answer, i catch myself looking at other software/solutions. EdingCNC, LinuxCNC and even Mach3/4)

I really hope you offer a nice upgrade/exchange program, and don't leave 'us' standing in the cold.

Regards,
buitermark
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 May 2012, 08:52
Location: Rhenen, Netherlands
Controller: Mk2

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby SpindleJockey » 23 Feb 2017, 17:17

Andrej:

Is this TNG software (preview) fully-operational at this time, or is it simply a limited-version that shows the GUI's and how the menus and functions are arranged?

It other words, is iTNG ready to use as a direct replacement for the earlier programs when using a MK3 controller?

Thank you.

Tom the SpindleJockey
SpindleJockey
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 30 Sep 2014, 14:59
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 27 Feb 2017, 09:14

Unfortunately TNG will not be supported with Mk2 as also no new updates and features controller FW wise.

TNG should be fully operational but some corrections, bugs should be expected. But it is expected to be in Stable mode very soon.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby Support » 27 Feb 2017, 09:14

TNG should be fully operational but some corrections, bugs should be expected. But it is expected to be in Stable mode very soon.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby DmacTheMaker2 » 28 Feb 2017, 22:33

In the Linux version of TNG: will it run on only an intel/Amd board, or can I run it on a Pi?
DmacTheMaker2
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29 Nov 2016, 17:37

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 01 Mar 2017, 00:59

I set up a computer with Kubuntu 17.04 and Planet-CNC TNG. The directions on your blog were easy to follow. I have it running in simulation mode and every thing seems to work. If I update my MK3 to this new firmware will I have any problems going back to the old version if there are problems?
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Re: New PlanetCNC TNG software released!

Postby traderdays » 01 Mar 2017, 03:54

While doing a simulation in the linux version it looks like when my gcode uses the M03 the program is using M05 in the simulation and when the gcode uses the M05 the simulation is using M03. Which would mean it's cutting when it is moving and not cutting when it is suppose to be cutting.
Attachments
back plate path 8 x12 final.tap
(7.47 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
traderdays
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Jan 2013, 20:03
Location: Navarro County Texas USA
Controller: Mk3

Next

Return to Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest