fusion 360

General topics about everything that doesn't fit elsewhere.

fusion 360

Postby kenyoung » 17 May 2015, 21:01

I am new to cnc, I just finished building my cnc router and got everything working. Now I'm looking at the software end. I used the trial versions of meshcam and cambam then I found fusion 360 and found it a very powerful program, I created a simple plaque with recessed text and tried to open it but kept getting error messages. I went into the export window and found a choice for mach3 and even a choice for rs274 but kept getting error messages like unknown code line 2, beginning of radius different than end of radius ect. What am I doing wrong/ any suggestions, what export option should I choose in fusion 360 or will it even work. I could switch out the breakout board and run mach3 but I don't want to. I purchased the components from build your cnc but used my own machine design so the board is the diy version. Any help would be great.
kenyoung

Re: fusion 360

Postby Support » 20 May 2015, 07:34

Have you tried any post processor which name ends with a word "g-code"?
We don't really have any experience with this CAM sw...

You get errors because definitions for these g-codes are not supported in that form on our controller.
Support

Controller: Many controllers

Postby Marcos » 21 May 2015, 13:57

Look at this http://www.planet-cnc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1346
Fusion 360 and Inventor HSM likely use the same .cps files which are the post processor definition file.

or just try out some of these .cps (emc gbrl mach2mill). Try to edit the resulting gcode, if there are problems, find out the one (.cps file) which comply at most and then:

This .cps files also can be modified with a text editor.

Please post your results, and what mods you applied. It should be possible to get a planet-cnc.cps file to share.
Marcos

Controller: Mk2

Postby kenyoung » 05 Jul 2015, 19:44