UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Pictures, plans, gcode, projects, tutorials, ...
All stuff that you do with your machine.

UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jamesdee » 06 Mar 2012, 21:42

Arnold is sick! (Arnold as in "The Terminator" is the name of my CNC router.) I have a MultiCam 22Plus unit that I bought new 16years ago. I run Casmate cad & Enroute 2.x cam software which creates a plt file which is input to Arnold via a serial port.

It is time to up-date Arnold. Just to replace the faulty spindle power converter will cost almost as much as  the parts I would need from Planet CNC.

What I would like to do is upgrade the controller to the Mk 2/4 along with all the necessary support cards, power supply, make Arnold new again.

My questions are:
     Can I use my existing stepper motors?
      ( SIGMAX 1.8 step motor, 2.32v (DC), 5.0 A(DC). 4 wire
     Can I use my spindle is a Perske 2HP  (220v).
     It looks like I can continue to use Enroute cam output to a plt file, correct?

I realize the control cabinet will be gutted and I'll be starting from scratch but the mechanical part, bed, screws, motors are in good shape. What do you think?

Jim
Jamesdee
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 21:13
Location: Grapvine, Texas
Controller: Other

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Andrej » 07 Mar 2012, 06:01

I'm sorry for Arnold. I hope he'll be better soon. Can you post come pictures of him?

You can use existing motors. I guess you'll use new motor drivers and power supply? Did you choose which?
I'm not familiar with Perske 2HP spindle. What is that power converter which is needed?
You will be able to use .plt files from Enroute. Can you send me some so that I can check them?

Andrej
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jamesdee » 07 Mar 2012, 18:19

Thanks for the quick reply. I hope the attached PLT files & pictures of Arnold help.

I would replace the stepper drivers, power supply, controller board (with the Mk2/4), breakout board for spindle, and what ever is necessary to mke it work.

Thanks in advance
Attachments
18_CLAFL.PLT
This is the PLT file generated in Enrout for the 1/8" router bit (Picture of finished plaque incl._
(49.51 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
60_CLAFL.PLT
This is the PLT file generated in Enrout for the 60 Degree conical router bit (Picture of finished plaque incl
(806.03 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
IMAG0233.jpg
This is "Arnold" A little old but the mechanicals are still good.
IMAG0233.jpg (42.91 KiB) Viewed 5525 times
MULTICAM 001.JPG
This is a pic of the existing cabnet, most of which will be gone with upgrage.
MULTICAM 001.JPG (166.34 KiB) Viewed 5525 times
20120130_25.JPG
This is the unit that my Perske spindle unit is attache to to contro on/off, speeds via panel control. The Perspe spindle is 220V with only four pins to run it.
20120130_25.JPG (55.48 KiB) Viewed 5525 times
MULTICAM 015.JPG
This is my control panel for Arnold. I realize most of the controls vill now be done via the PC.
MULTICAM 015.JPG (117.99 KiB) Viewed 5525 times
DSCN0069.JPG
This is the type of work I do with arnold. The attached PLT files are for the plaque you see here.
DSCN0069.JPG (150.76 KiB) Viewed 5525 times
Jamesdee
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 21:13
Location: Grapvine, Texas
Controller: Other

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Andrej » 07 Mar 2012, 18:52

If motor drivers and power supply works then perhaps you can keep them?
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Andrej » 07 Mar 2012, 19:56

Can EnRoute generate G-code?
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jamesdee » 08 Mar 2012, 00:02

I think I can convert plt to g code but I have never done it. I'll try tonight.

I don't know if I want to keep the stepper drivers & power supply. I'm sure the drivers would be no problem but using the existing power supply scares me as I don't know how or what all the connections are for.

What do you think you would do if it was yours?
Jamesdee
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 21:13
Location: Grapvine, Texas
Controller: Other

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Andrej » 08 Mar 2012, 07:52

I would get rid of all components that I don't trust.
I don't know much about your current components. Just make sure you don't under power your motors.
Andrej
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 16:09
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby bschiera » 25 Nov 2014, 11:58

Hallo, I want to do the same modify in my Multicam MT22 that is the same of your (so so),Can you tell me the final composition of your upgrade, and your program for use the new sistem?
And can you (if is working)sell your old g960 logic board?
Thanks,Benedetto Schiera(From Italy)
P.S.: I like the new CPU5A4E by Edingcnc, how you see this board?
Thanks.
bschiera
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Nov 2014, 10:24
Controller: Other

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jimmydee004 » 04 Jan 2015, 17:22

Update 1/04/2015:

I'm moving at the pace of a turtle with upgrading "Arnold".
Just as well because as it turns out almost all the Planet CNC stuff I bought cannot be used. Not their fault.

The Drivers, and Power Supply are way under powered for my steppers.
I blew-up my controller from Planet CNC by hooking up power leads where they weren't supposed to go, not to mention the USB ports no longer work on the laptop I was using.

The good news is all this happened without being connected to Arnold. I was just testing these components on a temporary set-up.

Right now I'm torn between using the existing stepper drivers and buy new units. From there back to the PC will be new components.

I forgot to mention, my spindle died sometime ago. Perski 2HP units are expensive. I tried several small routers and found out you get what you pay for. They could not handle the side to side movement causing the bearings to burn up. The answer for me was the Kress 800 spindle. Works great.

I am now using V Carve Pro software. Easy to use and is bullet proof compared to the old Casmate and Enroute I was using.

MultCam wanted almost $9,000.00 to bring Arnold up to date. I know I can do it myself for a lot less.
Their DNC software is no longer available and does not work with the newer Windows releases. (XP is the last version the will work)

I'm rambling but you get the idea. I'm taking my time in this conversion.
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Support » 06 Jan 2015, 09:08

Sorry to hear that you are having problems with your retrofit.

We will be offering new motor drivers capable of driving steppers of powers up to 6A,and also suitable PSU will be offered. Both at affordable price.

We expect them to be available in start of february. We are testing the drivers as we speak.

Also new Mk3/4 is available which is a great controller solution.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jimmydee004 » 09 Jan 2015, 18:22

My Mk 3/4 is ordered.

ARNOLD GAME PLAN

I have included a picture of Arnold’s Controller panel and the plan to integrate my new Mk3/4 Controller into it. Once again, it is a MultiCam 22 Plus.
If I am omitting anything obvious, please let me know.
1. I plan on using the existing drivers.
2. Use the existing power supply for the Drivers & Proximity Switches
3. The power supply I purchased from you guys will power the Mk 3 / 4

What do you think? Is this a sound idea?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Jim Markevitch
Grapevine, TX
Attachments
Revised Arnold Diagram 0001.jpg
Revised Arnold Diagram 0001.jpg (237.96 KiB) Viewed 3829 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Support » 12 Jan 2015, 13:52

This looks OK. You shouldn't have any problems.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jimmydee004 » 12 Jan 2015, 15:22

Thank you for your help.

Jim Markevitch
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby DanHughes » 15 Jan 2015, 15:18

The proximity switches should be connected to the mk3 controller instead of the multicam controller
DanHughes
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jan 2015, 14:33
Controller: None

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jimmydee004 » 17 Jan 2015, 15:10

If the proximity switches need to be connected to the Mk 3/4 Controller, do I need to purchase optocoupler's for each switch or each axis? I see you can buy them on ebay. Example: 4-Channel 12V Relay Module Coupling Optocoupler High Trigger For MCU Arduino I assume that's the type I need, right?
Looks like their all made in China. :cry:


Also in the drawing on this site they show an external resistor in line. What is the value of the resistor?

Thanks for the help!

Jim Markevitch
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Support » 19 Jan 2015, 08:41

This board is output board with opto isolated inputs.
Support
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby MarcoNorway » 20 Aug 2015, 11:19

hei I have a MultiCam 22Plus
and I want to upgrade it and I am wondering if your upgrade is a success and if you can maybe help me on the way to do the same

Greetings Marco Vredebregt
Norway
MarcoNorway
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Aug 2015, 11:05

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby Jimmydee004 » 31 Aug 2015, 17:59

Arnold is completed! (Well almost)
I have a minor issue with the stepper adjusting but other than that all works great.

The only part of the Multi Cam 22 Plus that is still stock is the hardware less the Persky spindle. All electronics from the drivers back and controls have been replaced.

I an using a Kress 800 spindle to do the cutting and it works great. When time permits I will connect the auto On/Off from the 3/4 controller.

As you can see, all the gear fits nicely in the old Sony CD player cabinet. I did add the numeric keypad which makes the navigation very easy.
Attachments
AQrnold 0001A.jpg
AQrnold 0001A.jpg (52.15 KiB) Viewed 3041 times
Arnold 0001.jpg
Arnold 0001.jpg (91.4 KiB) Viewed 3041 times
Arnold 0002.jpg
Arnold 0002.jpg (59.56 KiB) Viewed 3041 times
AArnold 0003.jpg
AArnold 0003.jpg (63.5 KiB) Viewed 3041 times
Jimmydee004
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 May 2012, 21:00
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Controller: Mk1

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby MarcoNorway » 23 Oct 2015, 12:55

it looks stunning
do you have the a part list?
:)
MarcoNorway
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Aug 2015, 11:05

Re: UPGRADE MULTICAM 22 Plus

Postby MarcoNorway » 03 Jan 2016, 16:11

hei Jimmy
are you able to help me?
I am stil interested
MarcoNorway
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Aug 2015, 11:05


Return to Various projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest