Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Pictures, plans, gcode, projects, tutorials, ...
All stuff that you do with your machine.

Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby lixibert » 23 Feb 2012, 22:59

This is for the ones, who want to get rid of the Moshidraw Software which comes with
the 40W Chinalaser.
I have bought it from this seller at ebay:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/CO2-SCHNEID-LASE ... 0805584685

The laser comes with an USB Controller, it is the MS10105 Board with rev.1.4. The board seems to be ok,
but the Moshidraw Software is very buggy.
So i was looking for a solution to exchange the board and the software.
After a view mails with Andrej it was clear that i can use the MK2/4 Board to control the Laser.
(thanks for your support, Andrej)

So, here are my modifications on the laser:

After a few measurements at the pcb`s i have found out where the signals are routed to.

The Laser input stage needs an low active signal and 5V which are taken from Output Connector on MK2/4.
The Laser has two Opto limit switches. Their Signals are routed on the 12 pin FFC Cable.
I use them with LIMIT1 (X) and LIMIT2 (Y) at the LIMIT Connector.
The X Axis Motor is also on the FFC Cable. The Y Axis Motor is on a cable with an JST Connector.

If you use the Motordrivers from Andrej they need to be powered with an Voltage between 10V and 27V.
The laser has an 24V Power Supply, perfect for the motordrivers.

I wanted to keep as much original as i can, just in case i need some warranty.
So i have done a connector pcb to keep all the original cables and connectors.

I have attached the schematic and pcb of the Connector board. There is also a wiring diagram
and a bill of materials included.

Here are some pics to make it more clear how i have rebuild the laser.

Inside Laser view_1.jpg
This is the initial situation
Inside Laser view_1.jpg (206.08 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


This is the metal sheet where the MS10105 Board was mounted.
IMG_6932_1.jpg
IMG_6932_1.jpg (106.06 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


At first i tried to measure the distance between the holes to do a drawing. After i have realized that the
holes are made with a pumpgun (no similar distance at all) i made it from scratch.
just take a plate 220mm x 120mm (i have used 2mm PVC) and mark it from the bottom side through the holes.
IMG_6941_1.jpg
IMG_6941_1.jpg (76.08 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


Just grab some screws and bolts and mount the base plate.
IMG_6946_1.jpg
IMG_6946_1.jpg (119.83 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


Now it´s time for the connection board. I have milled it on my CNC.
IMG_6935_1.jpg
IMG_6935_1.jpg (126.44 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


The Silk screen was printed on adhesive foil and glued on the top side.
Please note, the direction of ST7,ST8 should be inverted! In the docs they are already changed.
IMG_6933_1.jpg
IMG_6933_1.jpg (143.57 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


Prepare your board with some wires:
IMG_6948_1.jpg
IMG_6948_1.jpg (104.96 KiB) Viewed 14447 times

IMG_6949_1.JPG
IMG_6949_1.JPG (140.56 KiB) Viewed 14447 times


end of part 1
lixibert
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 11:11
Location: Graz, Austria
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby lixibert » 24 Feb 2012, 08:19

Going on with part 2 now:

This is how it should look like when the original cables are connected to
the Connection Board.
IMG_6955_1.jpg
IMG_6955_1.jpg (164.35 KiB) Viewed 14434 times

IMG_6956_1.jpg
IMG_6956_1.jpg (229.78 KiB) Viewed 14434 times


If you use the Planet CNC Motordrivers you have to set
1/16 microstepping and the motorcurrent to 0,5A before applying
any voltage to the boards.

The MK2/4 board is supplied from USB, so set the Jumper to "USB".
Now is the right time to edit the settings in the CNC USB Controller Software.
The screenshots from my settings are included at the attachment.

At first power the MK2/4 board on, check if everything is ok, and you can get
a connection to the board. If so you can power the laser on via the main switch.
The Motordrivers should also have power now.

Now try to manual jog the axis and power the laser on with the Spindle button.
Set the Feed rate to 3000 and check if the motors are smooth and quiet during motion.
Now try to import a .dxf file.
In the options dialog set following as Andrej wrote to me via email:

When you import DXF you can check "Safe Height" but set its value to 0. Also check "Spindle" checkbox. Generated G-code will be without Z moves, but M3/M5 will be automatically added for rapid (G0) moves.
For laser machines you also need to set "Acceleration" to 0 because you'll need constant speed.


Screenshots from dxf-import are also included.

That`s it we`re done!

If i find some more spare time i will do a jogging keyboard pcb. I have some Joysticks left from
a PS2 Controller.

Have fun with your "new" Lasercutter,
kind regards
Michael
Attachments
pdf.zip
(167.15 KiB) Downloaded 789 times
Screenshots_settings.zip
(243.76 KiB) Downloaded 555 times
Screenshots_dxf-import.zip
(65.55 KiB) Downloaded 455 times
Gerberdata.zip
(8.71 KiB) Downloaded 451 times
lixibert
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 11:11
Location: Graz, Austria
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby skillalot » 25 Feb 2012, 21:04

What materials can you cut with the 40 watt laser, and what thicknesses? Are you using pressurised air trough the beam for cutting?
I want to make a lasermachine in the near future, those 40 watt lasertubes are very well priced on ebay nowdays, but I wonder through how thick materials it can cut.
I can't find a "laserwattage/max materialthickness cutting" table anywhere.

How are you going to control the laserpower, it is done though z-axis height?

Regs,
Sascha
skillalot
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 13:48
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Kristof » 27 Feb 2012, 12:39

I used to own a 60W laser machine. I have talk to manufacturer in China and import one straight from them. Great quality and never had any problem with it. My machine was 36" X 24" it is the size of table where I placed the material.
This is CO2 laser machine and it only cuts non-metals materials. But it can engrave on coated metals like anodized aluminum or stainless steel (for that you need a special formula to coat it with) .
I paid for everything about $5000 ( including the machine cost,customs,transportation and other paper work).
Other companies in USA want for that size about $8000.
Here is some info: http://www.epiloglaser.com/laserable_materials.htm.
About the thickness it all depends but I believe that I was able to cut through 3/4" thk acrylic without any problems.
Kristof
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 16:11
Location: Illinois
Controller: Mk1

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby lixibert » 29 Feb 2012, 12:06

Hi Sascha,

i have already tried to cut acrylic glas, plywood, rubber materials.
These materials can be cutted till 5mm thickness. Maybe thicker on 2 passes or more?

If you going to cut darker(black) materials, the max. thickness is further reduced.
I have also tried to cut FR4 (PCB) but this doesn`t work. Engraving of them does work,
maybe needfull for the silkscreen.

The laserpower is controlled via a potentiometer on the front panel.

kind regards
Michael
lixibert
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 11:11
Location: Graz, Austria
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby skillalot » 29 Feb 2012, 19:25

Do you use air assist to help cutting?
Like the example below, pressured air goes through the lensholder into the laserbeam after it passes the lens, and helps cutting. Should help cutting thicker materials, and materials won't start to burn with this.
Attachments
laser.jpg
laser.jpg (68.46 KiB) Viewed 14334 times
skillalot
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 13:48
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Kristof » 29 Feb 2012, 19:39

Basically if you won't use the air assistance during acrylic engraving or cutting your lensholder hole will clogged up.
Kristof
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 16:11
Location: Illinois
Controller: Mk1

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby lixibert » 29 Feb 2012, 20:45

No, i don`t use air for cutting.
Thank you for the picture, i haven`t seen this before.
Do you know the price of the lensholder?
The webshop? on the coletech site doesn`t work.
It seems to be a good idea to use air, maybe i give it a try.

I´m just at the beginning of lasercutting, i have to try a lot to find the
right parameters for engraving and cutting.

kind regards
Michael
lixibert
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 11:11
Location: Graz, Austria
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby skillalot » 29 Feb 2012, 21:07

skillalot
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 13:48
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Controller: Mk2

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby matt_o_70 » 09 Nov 2013, 23:29

Guys,
I am eager to know about supported features and functionality of USB CNC board for Laser cutter control. I have MK1 board on a CNC and love it for that task. I have have dabbled with the idea of making a DIY laser. I have some makerslide and V rail that is set aside for just this purpose.

Is Andrej's board an ideal controller for a hobby laser? Are you doing raster engraving or just vector cutting or both? Is the USB CNC board modulating the laser power?
matt_o_70
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 21 Apr 2013, 14:27
Controller: Mk1

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 21 Jan 2015, 09:22

Our controllers work great with laser CNCs. Currently we are adapting new software features for even better laser CNC support. We also retrofitted chinese laser to our Mk3/4 controller and it works great. Power is modulated with the help of PWM signal from controller.
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Plotter » 22 Jan 2015, 05:42

A couple of photos and a video as bonus will not go unappreciated :D
Plotter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 04:51

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 22 Jan 2015, 07:55

We intend to make manual for retrofitting this type of laser to our controller, with lots of pictures and videos :)
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 02 Jan 2016, 11:46

I would like to control my 40W Chinalaser with a Planet Mk3/4 board but do not have the facilities to make your PCB, would it be possible to sell me a kit of parts for your solution?
The fact that I would not have to modify the Laser Cutter is a very good point.
Incidentally, I can supply an .STL file for an air assist nozzle to be 3D printed if that is of interest.
Regards
Bob
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 04 Jan 2016, 08:18

@Planetnewby :
You can purchase MK3 or Mk3/4 series of controller. It is far more advanced than DIY (Mk1) version of controller. Mk1 controller is obsolete.

Also Mk1 does not support PWM on its outputs which is essential for remote controlling laser power.

However, we can offer you factory made PCB and pre-programmed PIC.
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 04 Jan 2016, 08:29

Thanks for your response, I already have a Mk3/4 Controller purchased from yourself in December.
The board I was referring to is the one to connect this to the existing cables on the laser cutter, if you can offer this with any useful information I would be very interested in buying it.
Regards
Bob
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 04 Jan 2016, 13:45

I am not sure of which board you are talking about, unless this post is intended for some other user in this thread.
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 04 Jan 2016, 15:04

Andrej
My message was originally addressed to Lixibert because he has produced an adaptor board to connect between a MK2/4 controller and a 40W Chinalaser cutter.
As you replied I was under the impression that you had a ready made board for this purpose.
Best Regards
Bob
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 04 Jan 2016, 18:35

Actually you would not need some special adapter board to connect laser electronic with Mk3/4.
Motors can be connected directly with IDC10 pin cables, and signals for laser control (PWM) can be connected without any struggle since Mk3/4 uses screw type terminals. But yes, some plug and play board sounds very nice :)
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 22 Jun 2016, 11:40

I have my 40W Chinalaser working with a MK3/4 Controller board and can finally produce shapes from dxf files. However there is one puzzling problem, although I can switch the laser on and off with the jog button it does not respond to M03 and M05 commands in the g code file.
Can somebody help!
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 22 Jun 2016, 14:48

Please post your settings and your g-code program that causes you problems.
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 25 Jun 2016, 13:39

Here is a simple rectangle program which I use to calibrate the laser cutter.

The problem appears to be that the laser tube is switched on by an M05 command and switched off with an M03 which is the reverse of what I would have expected.

Here is the gcode:-
%
G90 G17 G21
M05
G00 X0.00000 Y0.00000
M03
G01 X100.00000 Y0.00000 F1000.00
G01 X100.00000 Y50.00000
G01 X0.00000 Y50.00000
G01 X0.00000 Y0.00000
G00 X0.00000 Y-10.00000 M05
%
Best Regards
Bob
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 27 Jun 2016, 11:11

Have you tried inverting output signal for spindle in settings?
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Planetnewby » 28 Jun 2016, 09:16

Hi
I have tried inverting output pin 1 in settings which is used for M3, M4 amd M5 but this has no effect.
It is easy to swap the M3 and M5 commands using a text editor but if I do this the laser stays on at the program end, and after all, this is not the way the programming should work.
Here is a copy of the settings file which I used.
Can you help?
Regards
Bob

Settings.txt
(50.62 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
:)
Planetnewby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 15:27
Controller: Mk3

Re: Modifying a 40W Chinalaser

Postby Support » 28 Jun 2016, 11:29

Try set under spindle "Speed" pin also pin 1.
Support
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 07 Apr 2014, 17:39
Controller: Many controllers


Return to Various projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest